Scientia Issue #126

Jul 12, 2019 | Issues

SHAPING A BETTER WORLD THROUGH SOCIAL SCIENCE AND HUMANITIES RESEARCH

In this captivating edition of Scientia, we showcase a diverse selection of research achievements across the humanities and social sciences, from history to linguistics, and from economics to sociology.

In the first section of this edition, we take a journey through time, featuring highlights in the field of historical research. We open this section with an enthralling interview with Dr James Grossman, Executive Director of the American Historical Association, who discusses the critical role of historical thinking in public life. Next, we meet several impressive researchers who work to illuminate and understand different aspects of our history, from the evolution of scientific thought in ancient Greece and Rome, to socially inclusive educational systems in Soviet Russia. Our final article in this section investigates how computational linguistics can accelerate historical research.

This leads us to our second section, where we explore the fascinating world of linguistics. Here, we feature an exclusive interview with Professor Penelope Eckert, President of the Linguistic Society of America, who describes the ways in which this leading organisation supports linguistics research and highlights its societal value. From here, we showcase a number of exciting research endeavours, from using mathematics to drastically improve speech recognition technology, to investigating the challenges and wonders of multilingualism.

In the next section, we introduce several social scientists who are pushing the frontiers of our knowledge in the fields of economics and politics. By confronting the challenges of our time and developing mechanisms to bring about change, their goal is to improve how our economies, institutions and societies function.

Our final section in the edition is dedicated to achieving health equity. Here, we highlight research that strives to close population gaps in healthcare, through understanding and addressing the barriers that under-served communities face when seeking medical care. Through culturally sensitive provider training and accessible screening programs, the research teams in this section are working towards creating a fairer world.

 

Contributions from

 

CONTACT

Published in the UK, by Science Diffusion ltd
ISSN 2059-8971 (print)
ISSN 2059-898X (online)  
E: info@sciencediffusion.com
W: www.sciencediffusion.com
W: www.scientia.global

tweet us on twitter follow us on facebook  

Meet The Team…

DIRECTOR
Nick Bagnall 
nick@sciencediffusion.com

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF
Dr Nelly Berg 
nelly@sciencediffusion.com  

EDITORS
Dr Catherine Deeprose
catherine@sciencediffusion.com  

DESIGN MANAGER 
Mimi Jones
  

PUBLICATION MANAGERS
Brad Lange  
brad@scientia.global 
Katja Kunka
katja@scientia.global
Paris Allen
paris@scientia.global
Tom Griffiths
tgriffiths@scientia.global
Mike King
mike@scientia.global

CONTRIBUTING WRITERS 

Kerri Agnew, PhD
Margaret Unkefer, MSc
Adrian Nissen, PhD
Ingrid Fadelli, BSc, MA
Tyler Berrigan, BSc
Chris Harrison, PhD

Scientia Issue #126 Quick Flick