Scientia Issue #138

Aug 26, 2021Issues

In this inspiring new edition of Scientia, we are delighted to feature some of the most ground-breaking research findings and innovations across the diverse fields of chemistry, materials science, physics and computer science.

Our opening section explores the weird and wonderful world of chemistry. Here, we begin with a focus on chemistry education, before highlighting a selection of research projects in this fascinating branch of science. From developing chemical methods to remove carbon dioxide from the atmosphere, to devising inexpensive strategies for synthesising pharmaceuticals, this section shows how chemistry continuously offers solutions to an array of societal challenges.

Next, we report on some exciting developments in the critical field of materials science. In this section, we meet scientists who are creating cutting-edge materials for advanced technologies – from nanoporous membranes that remove bacteria from drinking water, to graphene foam that promotes tissue repair in the treatment of various medical conditions, including osteoarthritis.

In the third section of this exciting edition, we delve deeper into the nature of matter. Here, we highlight the latest discoveries and innovations in the world of physics – from understanding how matter behaved in the early universe, to creating gigantic atoms with sizes comparable to grains of sand.

Our final section celebrates innovation in computing technology – a field that has completely transformed human society in just a few decades. Here, we introduce researchers who are spearheading tomorrow’s breakthroughs in computer science – from optimising virtual reality technology, to bringing the power of quantum computing to research labs across the globe.

 

CONTRIBUTIONS FROM

CONTACT

Published in the UK, by Science Diffusion ltd ISSN 2059-8971 (print) ISSN 2059-898X (online)

E: info@sciencediffusion.com

W: www.sciencediffusion.com

W: www.scientia.global

tweet us on twitter follow us on facebook

 

Meet The Team…

DIRECTOR
Nick Bagnall
nick@sciencediffusion.com

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF
Dr Nelly Berg
nelly@sciencediffusion.com

EDITOR
Dr Catherine Deeprose
catherine@sciencediffusion.com  

DESIGN MANAGER
Mimi Jones

PUBLICATION MANAGERS

Paris Allen
paris@scientia.global
Mike King
mike@scientia.global
James Phillips
james@scientia.global
Nicki Green
green@scientia.global

CONTRIBUTING WRITERS

Samuel Jarman, MSc
James Apps, PhD
Lauren Haigh, BA
Trystan Carter, MSc
Ingrid Fadelli, BSc, MA 
John McAleese, PhD

 

Scientia Issue #138 Quick Flick