Scientia Issue #142

Sep 13, 2022Issues

Restoring Earth’s ecosystems and ensuring global food security are two of the greatest challenges humanity has ever faced. These puzzles are even more challenging in the face of climate change and a growing human population. In this important issue of Scientia, we meet scientists who are tackling both of these challenges head on.

The first half of the issue showcases the work of ecologists and conservation scientists, whose research is informing new strategies to protect and restore Earth’s precious biodiversity. We open this section by speaking with Professor Astrid Groot, President of The European Society for Evolutionary Biology, who explains how evolutionary insights are essential for devising effective conservation plans.

Next, we meet many fascinating scientists, each conducting important research in the areas of ecology or evolutionary biology – from identifying the best strategies to protect Louisiana’s wetlands, to exploring how ‘genetic rescue’ can save inbred populations of animals and plants from extinction.

In the latter half of the edition, we feature numerous exciting research projects that attempt to future-proof our agricultural systems. From using satellite-based technologies to predict crop failures, to exploring how cover crops can sustainably improve soil health, the scientists featured here are ensuring our future food security, while safeguarding the natural environment.

 

CONTRIBUTIONS FROM

CONTACT

Published in the UK, by Science Diffusion ltd ISSN 2059-8971 (print) ISSN 2059-898X (online)

E: info@sciencediffusion.com

W: www.sciencediffusion.com

W: www.scientia.global

tweet us on twitter follow us on facebook

 

Meet The Team…

DIRECTOR
Nick Bagnall
nick@sciencediffusion.com

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF
Dr Nelly Berg
nelly@sciencediffusion.com

EDITOR
Dr Catherine Deeprose
catherine@sciencediffusion.com  

DESIGN MANAGER
Mimi Jones

MARKETING MANAGER

Katie Campbell
katie@sciencediffusion.com

PUBLICATION MANAGERS

Nicky Green
green@scientia.global

Mike Taylor
Taylor@scientia.global

CONTRIBUTING WRITERS

Kelleigh Greene, MSc
Jasna Hodžić, PhD
Samuel Jarman, MSc
Patricia Turner, MSc
Trystan Carter, MSc
Morwenna Davies, BSc
Kate Summerson, MSc
Charles Fraser, MSc

 

Scientia Issue #142 Quick Flick