Scientia Issue #130

May 14, 2020 | Issues

In these challenging and uncertain times, it is with great pleasure that I introduce this captivating edition of Scientia, which showcases a diverse collection of research, on topics ranging from climate change mitigation to stellar evolution.

The first section of the edition focuses on our changing climate. In the same way that the coronavirus response must be based on sound scientific evidence, solutions to the climate emergency must be rooted in robust research, to ensure maximum success. Here, we celebrate research groups that have contributed to the strong body of scientific evidence on climate change, and those that are developing effective, science-based solutions to mitigate its disastrous effects.

Next, our planetary science section begins by introducing scientists who develop new ways to predict other dangers that we face on Earth – from the threat of anomalous solar activity to major earthquakes. We then venture deeper into the solar system, where researchers are gaining fascinating insights into how the planets evolved, and how their atmospheres can help us understand Earth’s changing climate.

In the edition’s final section, we explore the mind-blowing fields of astrophysics and cosmology. Here, we meet three research groups who are shedding light on how stars and galaxies form and evolve. Our final article touches on one of the biggest questions in cosmology: are we alone in the universe? In an exclusive interview, Mr Pérez Santiago at the SETI Institute describes his new project, which aims to send music representing humanity into space; what a fantastic way to conclude this remarkable edition of Scientia.

 

Contributions from

 

 

 

CONTACT

Published in the UK, by Science Diffusion ltd ISSN 2059-8971 (print) ISSN 2059-898X (online)

E: info@sciencediffusion.com

W: www.sciencediffusion.com

W: www.scientia.global

tweet us on twitter follow us on facebook

 

Meet The Team…

DIRECTOR
Nick Bagnall 

nick@sciencediffusion.com

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF
Dr Nelly Berg

nelly@sciencediffusion.com

EDITORS
Dr Catherine Deeprose catherine@sciencediffusion.com  

DESIGN MANAGER
Mimi Jones

PUBLICATION MANAGERS

Brad Lange
brad@scientia.global
Katja Kunka
katja@scientia.global
Paris Allen
paris@scientia.global
Mike King
mike@scientia.global
James Phillips
james@scientia.global

CONTRIBUTING WRITERS

Samuel Jarman, MSc
Ruth Kirk, PhD
Helen Quinn, PhD
Chris Harrison, PhD
Kelleigh Greene, MSc
Stuart Henry Wilson, PhD
Tyler Berrigan, BSc
Franco Normani, MSc
Stephanie Rose, PhD

 

Scientia Issue #130 Quick Flick